The Dream Program by Kat Kehrt

Every Wednesday a group of students around campus gather at the front gate around 3pm to wait for the Elementary School bus to drop some kids off. These kids are part of The DREAM Program, which is a non-profit organization, started in 2001 by a couple of guys from Darthmouth. The DREAM Program goes into colleges all over VT, and recently spread to Boston, and pairs college students with children from local low-income housing communities. Children who participate in The DREAM Program are exposed to a college campus, get a mentor and are giving opporunities that other children growing up in low-income housing communities are not generally offered. I have been a part of DREAM for 3 years, and being a senior, this is my 4th and final year. I have a mentee who has been matched up with me since day one and we get along great. It’s not only rewarding for her but it’s extremely rewarding for me. I am surrounded by kids of all ages in elementary and high school and we have lots of fun. Every Wednesday we try to plan something fun. Last week we went swimming in the college’s pool, we have been to a corn maze, put on a talent show and went Christmas caroling all around Poultney. DREAM has definitely shaped me to be the person I am today and I look forward to everything else it has to offer me in the future!
Kat

Every Wednesday a group of students around campus gather at the front gate around 3pm to wait for the Elementary School bus to drop some kids off. These kids are part of The DREAM Program, which is a non-profit organization, started in 2001 by a couple of guys from Darthmouth. The DREAM Program goes into colleges all over VT, and recently spread to Boston, and pairs college students with children from local low-income housing communities. Children who participate in The DREAM Program are exposed to a college campus, get a mentor and are giving opporunities that other children growing up in low-income housing communities are not generally offered. I have been a part of DREAM for 3 years, and being a senior, this is my 4th and final year. I have a mentee who has been matched up with me since day one and we get along great. It’s not only rewarding for her but it’s extremely rewarding for me. I am surrounded by kids of all ages in elementary and high school and we have lots of fun. Every Wednesday we try to plan something fun. Last week we went swimming in the college’s pool, we have been to a corn maze, put on a talent show and went Christmas caroling all around Poultney. DREAM has definitely shaped me to be the person I am today and I look forward to everything else it has to offer me in the future!
Kat 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Harman gill says:

    you have a great article…The Dream Program is nice

    Like

  2. ashwini says:

    The Dream Program is really awesome!! Check out this:http://goo.gl/pgGGZ8

    Like

  3. Nice Work .. <a href="http://www.indiaresultonline.in/kuk-result-kurukshetra-university/"&gt; KUK UG/PG Result</a> Great Information ,, Thanks Admin

    Like

Leave a Reply

