Christmas! (and 100% Eco-Friendly Thank you cards) by Krista Shugart

Christmas break has been great so far. I have spent most of my time relaxing. I used to read for pleasure all the time, but since I have started college I have been so busy reading for school that I have had no time to enjoy a book just for fun. Since I have been home I have been enjoying “The Road of Lost Innocence” by Somaly Mam. My lovely friend Heather lent it to me right before winter break started.

The book is about the sex slave industry in Cambodia. “It is a memoir that will leave you awestruck by the courage and strength of this extraordinary woman [Somaly Mam] and will renew your faith in the power of an individual to bring about change.”  *I would highly recommend this book!*

Christmas was very nice, and my family from my mom’s side came over.

To write my thank you cards this year I used 100% recycled material! I learned these methods from Lacey, a Green Mountain College staff member, and a GMC student.

My materials:

1) A magazine page

2) A tea box

3) Staples

4) a small piece of tape

For the envelope I used a magazine page. I folded it in the shape of an envelope and stapled the sides. For my thank you card I used the tea box cardboard and wrote my letter inside! It is so easy, and I feel so much better knowing that I used recycled materials.

*see picture*

I hope everyone has a happy and healthy new years!!

Post your New Years Resolution if you have one!

 

“I strongly believe that love is the answer and that it can mend even the deepest unseen wounds. Love can heal, love can console, love can strengthen, and yes, love can make change.” – Somaly Mam

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Lots of thanks for this post.I think it is a very good post. It helps us many away. So many many thanks for this article.http://www.humptysharmakidulhaniamovie.com/2014/06/humpty-sharma-ki-dulhania-movie-overview.html

    Like

  2. VAN says:

    Thank you so much for sharing, what a great idea 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow it's incredible what some people go through yet, overcome.

    Like

  4. gracy knight says:

    Loved to read great piece of ideas for betterment,Thanks alot for sharing

    Like

  5. jason says:

    Loved to know about this as festive season is around and i am looking out for a way to craft cards in eco friendly way

    Like

  6. presta says:

    Merry Christmas and a happy new year-Thanks for a informative post

    Like

  7. Marsh Burns says:

    As new year is on its way best wishes to you and your family thanks for a lovable resource

    Like

  8. clara says:

    great collections of ideas all together,thanks for sharing this useful productive approach & resource.

    Like

Leave a Reply

