My last first DREAM Wednesday- Kat Kehrt

DREAM starts tomorrow! I am so excited! DREAM, which stands for Directing through Recreation, Education, Adventure and Mentoring, is a mentoring program that was started at Darthmouth about 10 years ago. It pairs college students with kids from local low income housing communities in the town. I have been involved in DREAM since my freshman year and I love every moment of it. Tomorrow marks the last first Wednesday of DREAM. I remember my first Wednesday. We were in the Gorge, running around playing games and getting to know the kids. Little did I know how involved I was going to become in this organization. Every Wednesday for the past 3 1/2 years I have found myself hanging out with a group of some of the coolest 8 to 10 years old, running around Moses Lawn or exploring Poultney for 2 hours.

We have gone rock climbing at the Green Mountain Rock climbing gym in Rutland, gone on nature hikes to the Deane’s Preserve, gone sledding behind Cree and put on a talent show to raise money. Every Wednesday is a totally new adventure and I always look forward to them.

Every Wednesday, the kids pile off the bus at 3pm near Ames Circle. They are energetic and ready to hangout with college kids. After playing a few games to get their energy out, we present the day’s activity to them. Sometime we just hangout in Bogue, go to the farm and do arts and crafts. Last semester we even hada pie eating contest! To see some of those kids covered in whipped cream definitiely made my day!

DREAM has been a huge part of my life since my freshman year here and because of DREAM, I know what I want to do in life after graduation. It has inspired me to be a better person and give back more to the local community. I have worked for DREAM during the summer in 2010 and am a member of the Board of Directors. It’s amazing that a club at school can have such an impact on a person’s life.

There are many clubs at school and sometimes finding the one that fits your perfectly can be challenging, but there is always one for you. If there isn’t, you can create one! GMC is very open to any sort of club and if you get 15 signatures, supporting your club,  you can officially start it. In the meantime, while you are getting those signatures, come to Bogue Lounge on Wednesdays at 3pm and hangout with the coolest kids in town.

🙂

Leave a Reply

