Still on break for Brunnenburgers. By Taylor Conley

While all my friends are back at Green Mountain College going to classes, exracurricular activities, studying, and having the the unparalleled expereince of being a GMC student (which I am not so secretly missing), I have been working on turning the dreams of Brunnenburg into a sturdy foundation. As Brunnenburgers, we are still on break until February 29th! On the 29th we will be meeting at Albany airport to begin our journey. 
I believe you’re only going to get what you put into your travels. Thus, this winter break I have been pouring over travel books, talking to people that have been to Italy, trying to think of everything to pack, and perusing youtube videos on lessons on Italian. Come stai? I have read the whole Lonely Planet guide to Italy from cover to cover. As for my choice of spring break destinations-let’s just say it’s a little less than 5 fully written pages. Thus, the next step in my preparation is to wittle that list down (which I am well aware will be heartbreaking).
It’s funny how that reminds me of one of my classes from GMC. In Exploring Virtues, (one of my favorite classes) with Jen Sellers, we learned about maximizers and minimizers in The Paradox of Choice by Barry Shwarts. To illustrate the concept of how many choices we can be faced with, Jen had us take a field trip to the local supermarket Shaws and cout how many different varieties there were to the foods we were assigened. I counted well over 150 varieties of wine. The point was we’re faced with a myriad of choices-and for maximizers that can be incredibly daunting. After all the hard work of choosing the “right one,” research shows that maximizers are not happy. On the contrary, maximizers are the ones more prone to be depressed. Looking back, I would have been happier having invested less time in just picking a wine instead of having to count them all and judge which would be the best. So here I am presented with yet another opportunity to be a maximizer or minimizer in my choice of spring break destinations. 
Being away from GMC makes me realize more and more just how liberal arts and applicable my education has been. Who would have thought my ELA elective sophmore year would help me decide where I would choose to vacation my junior year?! A Green Mountain College degree is not just a diploma to get you into “the real world,” it’s an education you will have for life. It’s an education that will change who you are and nourish your soul. The things I’ve learned at GMC matter to me-not just on an intellectual level, but also on the core level of who I am, what I believe in, and what I value. Conclusively what I’ve realized on this break is that: yes, physically I am away from GMC, but I don’t have to go very far or think very much without finding it’sstill here!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4matGzkYN0w The Paradox of Choice Barry Schwartz

Leave a Reply

