GMC—>Peace Corps— Kat Kehrt

On Monday morning, instead of rolling out of bed at Green Mountain College, I found myself waking up at 5am in my house in NJ. I was home for the weekend and heading into New York City for my Peace Corps interview. As I drove into the city, I thought about how Green Mountain has really played a role in my decision to apply to the Peace Corps.

When I applied to GMC in my senior year of highschool, I was planning on going for Adventure Recreation. But after I took a year off and spent a few weeks on campus, I realized that Sociology/Anthropolgy was more my calling. I enrolled in classes such as Cultural Anthropoogy, Human Orgins, Human Ecology and Third World Developments. I even got to present about my travels to Ghana and Nepal in that class!

When I started to think about what I wanted to do after I graduated, I knew I wanted to help people. I had taken a year off and spent some time volunteering in Nepal and Ghana and grown to love travelling and giving back. I decided on applying to the Peace Corps and my parents and friends were completely supportive of me. I talked to some of the professors I knew very well as well, and they were behind me too. I even found out that Keith McDade and Kevin Bubriski had also gone into the Peace Corps and spent some time picking their brain. Recently, Vangie Blust retired from being a Sociology/Anthropology professor here at GMC and moved, with her husband (also a prof here), to Mexico in the Peace Corps.

I got an email a few weeks ago, confirming my interview on Monday, Feb 6th and started to prepare. I met with Keith a few times and went over my questions and pick his brain about the process.

When I went into the interview, I felt extremely prepared and confident. I knew that alot of it stemmed from my experiences at Green Mountain College. GMC has put me on the exact path I want in life and because of GMC, along with some other factors in life, I applied to the Peace Corps.

Green Mountain College is a great college because it is able to define and carve you into the person you are destined to be in life.

Leave a Reply

