Girl, Interrupted– By Alexandra Hilliard

At the end of last week, I received a book from the Interlibrary Loan system. If the school does not carry a book or other item which you are interested in taking out on loan, the library will search for it within a network of other libraries! Needless to say, I requested it last week, and was able to pick it up today.

The book I requested is called “Girl, Interrupted” by Susanna Kaysen. I have seen the movie twice. The main actress is Winona Ryder, and she is accompanied by Angelina Jolie, who happens to be my favorite actress. They are not the only well-known actors in the movie, but I was most impressed by their characters than any other. This story is largely autobiographical in nature. Susanna Kaysen, at the age of 18 was admitted to McLean’s Hospital in Belmont, MA. She stayed in their in-patient psychiatric facility for nearly two years, and decades later, chose to chronicle the experience. The movie is based on the book, but from the reviews I have read, it seems to stray from the true character of the memoir. Susanna’s movie character is diagnosed as having Borderline Personality Disorder after attempting suicide and self-mutilation, and also having been involved with risque sexual relationships. She is admitted to Claymoore Hospital and is able to discover the essence of her being by understanding her relationship to the other patients within the ward.

As I mentioned, I just got the book today and although I would have liked to have read the entire thing today, I engaged in homework for most of the day. However, the quarter that I have completed is interesting so far. It is easy to relate to Susanna and understand her “craziness”. You are drawn into her world, although mainly in a philosophical sense. By this I mean that it is more difficult to picture the aesthetics of her story, you are more involved in symbols and thoughts and meanings. It is clear where the movie producer/director used creative license to alter the story in order to make it more appealing to audiences.

So far I enjoy it. I encourage you to indulge as well. I will keep you updated 🙂

Leave a Reply

