Day 2 at the Stanford Undergrad Psych Conference: It’s show time! – by Lan Tran

 

Day 2 was the Presentation day!!! I got chosen to be an oral presenter, so I had an opportunity to talk about my research and answer questions in strictly 17 minutes. The audience wasn’t big because there were four sessions running simultaneously and also I actually knew no one here. Luckily enough, I made three new friends during lunch and they all came to support me!

These new friends were all seniors, one would do a master in Social Work, one would do a Doctor of Psychology (Psy.D) and one would take a year off. Hearing about their stories really inspired me to plan ahead. I actually have talked with my advisor, Professor Jen Sellers about my post-graduation plans, and she helped me to find a research internship this summer. I hope this internship would give me an idea of whether or not research is the perfect fit for me.

Also, one advice for you all: Practice speaking until you are able to do a talk without a power-point. I took International Negotiations and the Environment in Fall 2011 with Professor Sam Edwards and this is the rule that he emphasized many times: PRACTICE PRACTICE AND PRACTICE! You think technical issues would be rare? Wrong! My projector got turn off during my presentation in a place like Stanford, so it can happen elsewhere! I was quite shocked when that happened but I decided to continue my presentation. Fortunately, someone from the organizing team helped me turn it on later but I am still glad that I tried to handle the situation professionally then.

At the end, the audience asked many interesting questions, which really helped me to form new ideas to conduct more projects within this line of research.

Check out my presentation! Questions and suggestion would be very appreciated!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. color pink has always been an interesting, previously to women, although not a few men who love the color pink, put on anywhere, the color pink will be an attraction

    Like

  2. almaira says:

    I just wanna say thank you for your article because this article was very useful and helped me to learn.

    Like

  3. Thank you very much for the article, was very enlightening. Although I must admit that the pink color me very strange in men.

    Like

  4. It was great!!!Tnx a lot<a href="http://www.behahang.in/">دانلود آهنگ جدید</a><a href="http://www.behahang.org/">دانلود آهنگ جدید</a>

    Like

  5. I was searching for this kind of information. I was glad that i stumbled across it. I want to make a valuable contribution. Please connect me with at twitter. my id is igurucool keep me informed about future posts.

    Like

  6. n zaman says:

    Hi,You gave that advice, it was not known to me before.

    Like

  7. Gaston says:

    Always nice to see that even for an audience of four man the presenter keeps doing his atmost best in explaining his thoughts on the subject.http://collageen.naturalbeautyparkstad.nl

    Like

  8. diana says:

    thanks for sharing this beautiful article

    Like

Leave a Reply

