A Life Long Skill From GMC…By: Forrest Teutsch

During this past semester I took a course called “Organic Waste Management” in which we basically spent the entire semester learning about composting and then trying to take it to the next level and using these skills. This could be in the form of teaching others about organic waste management, starting your own compost, or any other creative idea hatched from what we had gone over in class. Even after the year had ended though, I found myself loving the concept of composting and thought of all the beneficial uses from it and how I could actually carry these skills with me for my entire life.

So at the start of the summer while I was looking for jobs I had made a goal for myself to at least do one compost project at my house or in my town. After a few days of thinking about everything but not actually taking action I sort of decided in an impromptu manner to start a small compost bin in my backyard for the food scraps and other organic wastes that I could collect and compost.

Basically my bin looks similar to this one below; it’s a plastic bin with holes drilled through it to allow some air flow. It’s a fairly simple concept and there is not a whole lot of work that needs to be done in order to get a great result. After I gain more experience with this compost I would like to both increase the sheer size of my composting efforts and in addition to that I am planning on making my next one a vermicompost.

Now a vermicompost is a certin type of compost that introduces red worms to the organic waste and allows the worms to break down the waste and airate the compost by moving it around. This is without a doubt the coolest way to compost at home because once you get everything in place there is nearly no added work on your part that needs to be done, just keep adding worm castings and food scraps with the occasional carbon base of woodchips and the worms will do the rest.

If you too want to get into vermicomposting here are some tips on how to get it going!

-The composter should be stationary, no the rollers or turners…the worms take care of that.
-In a shady location to avoid overheating.
-Don’t add too many grass clippings as overheating can occur through the decomposition.
-Place a wire barrier or something like that beneath the composter to prevent moles and other critters from snacking on your worms.
-Remember to add a carbon source (woodchips, cardboard, newspaper, ect.) on occasion to give them a balanced diet and mostly to control the odor.

 

Now go out there an compost too!

One Comment Add yours

  1. After reading this post, I have became fan of your blog. I am looking forward to get more information from you. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

