Vegetarianism, Veganism, and Local Food

(Photo from http://www.nomeatathlete.com/vegetarian-diet/)

Veganism is strictly a plant based diet.  This involves avoiding all animal products (meat, dairy, eggs) and eating vegetables, fruits, grains, and nuts.  Vegetarianism is a diet wich avoids consumption of meat.  In this diet, dairy, and eggs are eaten and all meats incluing beef, chicken, pork, turkey, and ham are avoided.  Chartwells, the dinning service offered by Green Mountain College, offers many options for students who are living by these diets.  They have an entire section aside from the meat that often includes dishes with meat alternatives including tofu, tempeh, and seitan.  This aspect of Chartwells encourages those with diets to continue pursuing them.  From my own perspective as a vegetarian, Chartwells has made maintaining my diet easy with signs and descriptions for dishes they make.

Aside from events and activities, socializing in Chartwells is one of the few regular opportunities that students have to catch up and talk with their friends.  Many times I think that because I am vegetarian and have been my whole life, the topic of food comes up about 85% of the time at the table where I decide to sit.  With a life of experience to speak from, students are often facinated to hear what foods I eat and ones I have avoided.  Some students find my inability to describe meat humorous when I call it “meaty or tender.”  Others have asked about the reasons I choose such a diet.  I usually just say that I do it for ethical reasons (trying not to support factory farming) and health reasons (I have formed an opinion that meat is unhealthy and there are other foods containing protein and other nutrients common to meats).  

I enjoy answering these questions and feel they bring up important thoughts surrounding food consumption.  For example, the idea that we have lost a connection to the food we eat, and therefore we don’t really know what we are eating unless it is locally sourced.  To accomodate this issue, Chartwells is actually working in a new policy where they are going to bring in meat strictly from local and sustainable sources.  At a college with such a high emphasis on sustainability, the efforts to accomodate diets and the push toward more local foods has been much appreciated by many students here at Green Mountain College.

Written by: Andrew O’Neill

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Soy vegano says:

    Buen contenido, como vegano que soy muchas gracias por informar! Saludos

    Like

  2. Moms always tell their kids "Eat all your vegetables". There are plenty of great reasons why also. Many are rich in vitamins A, C and E, folate and other B vitamins, and potassium and other minerals. High fiber content encourages regular bowel function. Rich in flavonoid and other chemical compounds which help prevent disorder. And yet, data lately released about 23% of Americans have less than one helping of fruits and vegetables a day. Yet, those who eat 7 or more pieces of vegetables a day reduced the risk of dying from any cause by 42%. And these same folks love a 31% risk of cardiovascular disease as well as a 25% lower risk of cancers. Anyways very nice post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. presta says:

    Loved to read a informative piece on vegetable,As so many of us do not understand the importance of leafy vegetable till something weird happen

    Like

  4. Samuel says:

    tofu and tempeh right, it can also be made as a vegetarian meal plan

    Like

  5. Vincent says:

    As a lacto-ovo vegetarian I enjoy reading such resourceful posts because they always give me ideas about what meal or recipe I could try out next. Thanks for this awesome post. Oh! One question I enjoy answering too though is: you say you don't eat chicken, but then why do you eat eggs? Always get this one haha.

    Like

  6. Suresh says:

    Of course, what a magnificent website and illuminating posts, I definitely will bookmark your blog.Have an awsome day!<a href="http://www.ap-ssc-results-2015.in/">Manabadi SSC Results 2015</a>

    Like

  7. Ram charan says:

    My friend and I were just talking about this specific subject, she actually is normally attempting to prove me completely wrong! I am about to show her this blog post and additionally rub it in a little!http://www.ap-ssc-results-2015.in

    Like

  8. Hey,This post is most informative thanks to share this grateful idea. Always I want to read same as vegetarian post. Everyone can see also this site.I hope it will be helpful..http://ttps24.blogspot.com/

    Like

  9. Hey,This post is most informative thanks to share this grateful idea. Always I want to read same as vegetarian post. Everyone can see also this site.I hope it will be helpful..http://ttps24.blogspot.com/

    Like

  10. buana resep says:

    I am not a vegetarian but I really like vegetables and fruits , especially if used eskrim.hmm … seems very tasty , thank you for the article .http://macam-macam-resep.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

