Changing the world- by Seraphina Mallon-Breiman

  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qu96UwxCDv4 

My name is Seraphina Mallon-Breiman and I am nineteen years old. I have been working with the One Voice for Laos organization and community for a few years now. This project was started by one of the mothers in my community at home in Woodstock NY to help support children in an orphanage in Laos. I’ve helped to put on fundraisers, write blogs and newspaper articles, perform and overall publicize this amazing project.

As one of the first teenagers actively involved in the origination of One Voice for Laos, I am now experiencing my first year in college and am helping peripherally with the project. Recently, I took a trip home from school to help perform with two of my best friends at a cabaret night that the organization was holding. After a moving and talent-filled night, I was reminded again of how happy it makes people to join together with the common goal of helping to increase the happiness of the rest of our world.

It is a seemingly simple observation- but as humans, we constantly forget it. I realized that my role in this project, as many of my fellow teenagers who are also helping from afar, is to encourage this world changing behavior from the next generation of people involved in One Voice for Laos as well as in the new places we venture to today. Everybody wants to make a difference in the world, whether that comes from performing at a fundraiser or buying the ticket to attend, or going to meet the orphans in Laos or simply contribute what you can to allow this for others. There are so many organizations out there to encourage this kind of action and we all have the opportunity to be a part of one or multiple groups like this. So here is a reminder to all of you GMC students to continue striving to make a difference every day!

Leave a Reply

