Why GMC is Great

A question I often am asked is “Why did you decide to attend Green Mountain College?” Asked on the spot, I am usually a bit slow at generating a quality answer.  Given that there are many reasons why came here, I thought I would share them with everyone.

What set Green Mountain College (GMC) apart from other college’s was the welcoming feeling I received the moment I stepped foot on campus. As I was brought around for a tour, the students seemed polite and friendly. Also, the surrounding landscape was beautiful. Additioinally, I was drawn to GMC’s strong Adventure Education program.

Growing up loving the outdoors, camping, hiking, canoeing, and backpacking with my family, I knew outdoor leadership was the career I wanted to pursue. What made the program great was not simply the material covered in classes. What made the Adventure Education major amazing was the passionate teachers, incredible opportunities for recreating, and the resources available.

Finally, another attraction was the student population size. There are about 700 students currently attending, this allows for plenty of opportunities in regards to playing sports, taking leadership roles, along with many others. GMC has shaped me into a much more well rounded individual. The college provided me with many awesome opportunities including running for their cross country team, founding my own club, playing for their tennis team, and serving on the student senate. Again, what sets GMC apart from other competing college’s is the warm welcoming atmosphere you are greeted with when on campus.

~Andrew O’Neill

Leave a Reply

