Research at it’s Finest- By Seraphina Mallon-Breiman

On this beautiful Easter day, I spent my afternoon at home, on my couch, researching dozens of old, famous photographers that my teacher, Kevin Bubriski, reccomended to me for our classes final project. While the word ‘research’ has always seemed to make me cringe, this has been an enlightening few hours.

At school, it’s difficult to make the time for lounging around and google-searching images of inspiring photographs- and ultimately doesn’t seem like a very rewarding thing to do anyway, but I was shocked!

Searching the names of artists such as Irving Penn, Richard Avedon, Edward Steichen, Paul Strand, Diane Arbus, Lewis Hine, Cindy Sherman, Sally Mann, Emmet Gowin, Dorothea Lange, etc… the quality and depth and creative minds behind each of their works is incredble! I was in awe of a work by Dorothea Lange (below). Her image of this young girl is so crisp and important I called my mother over to take a look.

 

And a photo by Lewis Hine (below) of a building that reminds me of Grand Central Station in NYC brings me to a kind of awe that just makes me want to sit back and give up on photography entirely. 

While I don’t actually mean I would give up on photography, these images (amongst many others) just overwhelm me with this desire to pursue what I’m studying with a much more impassioned feeling. I highly reccomend taking a day to stay in bed with some coffee and your laptop and do your own meaningful research! It will inspire you to continue working I promise!

I hope everyone’s having a great Easter break, see you back in classes on Tuesday!!!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I pray you keep the spirit burning granted and never give up

    Like

  2. Biolo WSC says:

    biolo-wsc.com adalah solusi alternatif terbaik untuk menurunkan berat badan, melangsingkan badan, menghilangkan perut buncit, dan mengurangi lemak

    Like

  3. Vemon says:

    Photos is the black very good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

