One-on-One with Anne Tuthill

By Matthias Baudinet

Recently I had the marvelous pleasure of interviewing freshman Anne Tuthill. As a first year here at Green Mountain College she gives us her thoughts on the school while allowing us to get to know her a little bit at the same time.

It was a privilege of getting to know this wonderful lady. I know that she will make a huge difference at this school in her endeavors in sustainable agriculture and adventure education.

 

1. Where are you from?

       -“Jamestown, Rhode Island”

2. What were your expectations of Green Mountain before you came here?

       -“Lots of people active with the farm, and also a huge school-wide effort in sustainable agriculture.”

3. How was your first day of classes at Green Mountain?

       -“It was a bit confusing trying to find the buildings at first, but my classes went really well on the first day.”

4. How do you like your room/roommate?

       -“I like my room a lot. It is really not that bad, and I have a lot of space. I love my roommate! We get along really well and she introduced me to a lot of people.”

5. How is the food here?

       -“It is not that bad. I hear people complaining about it, but I like it. I have a lot of fun trying vegan options. I think it is cool that they have many options for people with different diets.”

6. Were you excited to come here?

      -“I was both excited and slightly scared. I was super excited for greenMAP trips and the farm. I think I was also excited for the small size in classes, the small village of Poultney, and the rural environment. I was a little scared about meeting people though.”

7. What do you plan in majoring in and why?

       -“I am undecided as of now, but I am thinking about Sustainable Agriculture or Adventure Education. I like farmer’s markets and trying to implement a sustainable food system in the US and around the world.”

8. What do you like to do in your spare time?

       -“I  like to do anything outside. I love being around the farm. I just like being active. However, I do love watching Netflix and YouTube.”

9. What is your opinion on the town of Poultney?

       -“Well, I haven’t seen much of it yet, but I love the Co-Op. I think I love it because it reminds me of Jamestown [her hometown].”

10. What is your favorite thing about Green Mountain College?

       -“The farm chores or the greenMAP program. It is very hard to pick. I also love the fact that almost every class is tied to the environment.”

11. How do you like your classes so far?

       -“I like all of my classes right now. The professors seem really cool and the small class size is definitely a benefit.”

12. How would you describe the Green Mountain population?

       -“They are all very friendly. I love the hippies here at GMC. They all are very casual and approachable. Plus, I am very shy, so it helps when people come up and talk to me instead of me having to do that!” 

13. What is your least favorite thing about Green Mountain College?

       -“The fact that the dining hall doesn’t open until 11:00am on the weekend. I am always very hungry early in the morning!”

14. Chocolate or vanilla?

       -“Chocolate of course!”

15. What is your favorite type of music/band?

       -“I love Of Monsters and Men. I also like Aerosmith, Beyoncé, etc. I have a huge variety of songs on my iPod.”

16. What is something that you’re looking forward to at GMC?

       -“I am excited to get more involved in clubs, meeting new people, and possibly becoming a greenMAP leader.”

17. What are your favorite sports?

       -“I love any sport. In particular, I like soccer, tennis, ice sailing, skiing, and rugby.”

18. What is your favorite book?

       -“To Kill a Mockingbird.”

19. How would you describe yourself?

       -“Awesome, outdoorsy, athletic, active, and shy.”

20. What are some of your pet peeves?

       -“When people don’t use apostrophes correctly on Facebook and when people don’t use their turn signals.”

21. What is your favorite color?

      -“Any shade of blue.”

22. If you could live in one country for the rest of your life, and could never travel/leave that place, which country would you pick?

      -“ICELAND! That is so easy…I love that country! I want to live there when I am older.”

 Anne is a great person and fits in very well at Green Mountain. She will enjoy her years at Green Mountain, and in Vermont in general.

       

Leave a Reply

