City Vision – By Seraphina Mallon-Breiman

This weekend was filled with a few wonders… one of my best friends, Jess, from home in Woodstock came and visited. We decided that a good way to see the city and more fully understand how to navigate it would be to walk its entire length from top to bottom. Considering Manhattan is an island, this is doable, but it is certainly an all-day procedure. We walked the length of Broadway, Manhattan’s most famous avenue and the one where my apartment is located conveniently enough, from West 116th street all the way down to Staten Island where we took the ferry across at the evening sunset, passing the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, etc. 

After that we met up with my friend Edith and I convinced both of them to let me take them on a train back downtown to 34th street to a swing dancing club called 412. Neither of them love or feel comfortable dancing but they both agreed it would be an exciting experience and joined me for the night. It was fabulous, as usual, I’d been twice before already. This will be what I miss the most about NYC- the ease there is in finding exciting performing arts or clubs full of young people who are also interested in swing dancing or salsa dancing and don’t think it’s just a silly old-fashioned aspect of the past.

This is Saint John The Divine’s Cathedral on West 110th st and Amsterdam. It is the largest Anglican church and cathedral in the world and something I pass by on most of my neighborhood walks within the area. It’s one of the most beautiful and serene churches I’ve ever been to, like finding a little bit of Europe within the city. My parents used to spend a lot of time together in college in this area, finding a quiet space in the church or hanging out in the Hungarian pastry shop around the corner.

This weekend was also exciting for a few more reasons. I wound up catering Ralph Lauren’s daughter’s wedding at one of his homes in Greenwich, CT which was a fourteen hour job and involved driving a van full of caterers from midtown Manhattan all the way to CT because no one else had their license (typical city goers). This was my first time driving in NYC and may possibly be my last considering how chaotic! After this I also visited with some visiting family from Massachusetts, and had a lovely visit from my mom and an old family friend who took me to see Wicked: The Musical on Broadway! I cried during the majority of the show because I’d seen it once before when I was twelve and have been obsessed with it ever since. Realizing how central the show had been to my tween and teen years- it made me realize how quickly time really does seem to be going… 

Leaving you with a quote, “In the end, only three things matter- how much you loved, how gently you lived, and how gracefully you let go of the things not meant for you.” 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Europe sounds great, wish to be there someday.Thanks 🙂

    Like

  2. Look at development in Ambala, more than Rs. 1200 crore had been spent on the development of the Ambala constituency. Venod Sharma is the only alternate to the caste based politics in Haryana.

    Like

Leave a Reply

