Student Ambassador

 

By: Matthias Baudinet

     One of my many jobs on campus is being a student ambassador. I am employed through the Office of Admissions in Pollock Hall, and I am basically what the job title says–an ambassador. I represent Green Mountain College. Meaning that when I interact with prospective students or their families, I represent Green Mountain College as a whole. This may sounds like a very big responsibility, and it is. But, it is also an big responsibility that has many benefits.

     I was hired to be a student ambassador at the end of my sophomore year. At the time, I was very hesitant to take the position, but now I believe that it is one of the best decisions that I have made in regards to job opportunities. I have gotten the privilege to meet and interact with the school’s administrators and distinguished guests. More importantly however, I played a significant role in the enrollment of new students into the school.

     Since being hired at the end of my sophomore year, I have met so many wonderful prospective students. There is no better feeling than seeing a student that you gave a visit to enroll into GMC at check-in day. Student Ambassadors have a major influence in a prospective student’s college decision. Families sometimes depict what life is like on campus based on what you say and the way you act. It is a very important position that should not be taken lightly, but if one is comfortable representing the school and enjoys interacting with people, then this job is for you.

     As the school year is about to start tomorrow, I recommend to any freshman reading this to look into the position to see if they are interested. It is a phenomenal experience and a great job to have on campus. If any one has any questions please comment below or email me at baudinetm@greenmtn.edu.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

