Freshman Representative: Lily Bergstein

By: Matthias Baudinet

     This past weekend I had the pleasure of interviewing the newly elected Freshman Representative, Lily Bergstein. Lily is a very passionate student who is currently a Sustainable Agriculture & Food Production major, but is looking into switching to the new Wilderness Therapy major. She is very passionate about teaching young people (young women in particular) about different styles of wilderness education (such as Native American wilderness edcuation).

Below is the interview divided up into 7 questions:

1. Where are you from and how did you hear about GMC?
-“I am from New Paltz, NY and I heard about Green Mountain when I attended the NOFA NY Winter Conference. There, I talked to Bailey, the former farm manager, and Erin Burch 12′. They talked to me about the school and got me interested in it. I also visited the school 4 times after that, but I fell in love with it on my first visit.”

2.What made you want to get involved in Student Senate and run for Freshmen Representative?
-“When I talked to former students, their main tip was to get involved on campus. Plus, I like to work in multigenerational environments where students from all classes can mingle and interact with one another. I am also interested in politics, and I want to have an impact on this campus and make a difference in any way that I can.”

3. What was your initial reaction when you first stepped foot on campus?
-“I noticed right away how friendly everyone was. I did not feel awkward or out of place. I felt very welcomed and at ease when I walked around campus.”

4. What are some of your favorite things about GMC?
-“I really like the student body’s motivation. I also like the fact that I have never been bored since I have been here. I always have something to do. I also love the surrounding environment that complements GMC in an amazing way. I really like the class field trips that I have gone to with my images section, and the small size of the school also is something that I appreciate…I love Bogue.”

5. What are some of your goals that you want to accomplish as Freshman Representative?
-“I want to figure out a way to bring in more fruit diversity in the dining hall..perhaps a Green roof used to supply the dining hall with different foods could be a solution? I also want to finish bringing/replacing recreational equipment in the lounge/common areas in residence halls. I have already started working on this and with the help of students, hope to complete this very soon.”

6. What are some of the things that you enjoy to do such as hobbies of activities?
-“I love to sing and I am part of the A Capella group here on campus. I also really enjoy playing music with people. I appreciate wandering, which goes hand-in-hand with Geo Cashing, another cool activity that I enjoy doing. Being a huge people person, I like talking to and getting to know people. Because of the size of the school, I feel as though you can really get to know one person, or a certain group of people.”

7. Do you have a message that you want to send to the GMC community and to the Freshman Class in particular?
-“I want to communicate with one another and free up communication between students of all classes so that ideas can flow freely and be exchanged.”

        Lily Bergstein is an incredibly passionate young woman whom I think will really make a profound difference in Student Senate, and will be the bridge between the Freshman class and the Senate here at Green Mountain College.


One Comment Add yours

  1. janeleonard says:

    This interview has been a great opportunity to know about Lily Bergstein!! Hope she brings the best out of her as a Freshman Representative!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

