“I’m Graduating!”

By: Matthias Baudinet
       
        When I first applied to Green Mountain College I was filled with both excitement and nervousness. After completing high school in south Florida, I was now heading to a small Vermont school. I knew that I was going to be in a completely different environment. After spending a few years underneath the terribly warm Floridian sun, I was so ready to be exposed to the cold Vermont weather. I still remember purchasing tons of winter jackets and sweaters. I obviously could not bring all my “summer” Florida clothes. 
       
        As soon as I stepped on campus I knew that this was the right place for me. My parents were there with me and I could tell that they also loved it here. I even heard my father talking about possibly retiring here! The calm and peaceful environment of the college and Poultney village was the perfect place to do my undergraduate studies. There are not a lot of distractions, which would allow me to really focus on my studies, but also allow me to appreciate and admire the beautiful Vermont countryside. 
       
        My first of classes at GMC could not have gone any better. I was already friends with many people on the men’s and women’s soccer teams, and I had meet all of my Images of Nature classmates. To this day, I am really close friends with a few wonderful individuals from that same Images class. Images of Nature was the class that really showed me a totally different world. A world that can be changed for the better if we treat it with the respect it deserves. Before Images I had not been exposed to any sort of environmentalism. To this day, I am still so thankful for my Images professor (Sarah Mittlefehldt, PhD)–she helped me become the person that I am today. 
        As I recall my early days at Green Mountain College I can honestly say that the education that I received here has given me the necessary skills and character traits that will allow me to pursue my goals and ambitions with a high rate of success. In particular, GMC has taught that it is possible to make a difference in the world while also making a living–these two things are compatible. The professors that I have had here at Green Mountain College has pushed me beyond my original intellectual limits and have made me realize that the amount of potential that I have is a lot higher than I had first thought. 
       
        As May 16th approaches, I could not be happier to finally receive my degree. Of course, I am also sad that I will be leaving this place. GMC has been my home for four years and I have honestly had the time of my life here. I made unforgettable memories, formed great relationships with professors, and created memorable and genuine friendships. 
       
        Thank you Green Mountain College for making my time here some of best years of my life so far. I could not have asked for more. I feel privileged to have been part of this admirable institution. I feel even more privileged that I will forever be a representative of Green Mountain College and the values that it stands for. 
“Lux fiat.”
13 Comments Add yours

  1. Tourism News says:

    Congrats on your upcoming graduation Matthias!

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    Congratulations, and it was wonderful to get to know you during the past two years! Good luck!

    Like

  3. softpedia says:

    thanks for sharing that.

    Like

  4. muthu says:

    Your blog is some thing different from others. It is nice attractive for seeing the blog. Ya it is really true. List of niches that require little/no writing skills. It is enough to catch the people.http://matrixlabs.in/prenatal-screening/<a href="http://matrixlabs.in/prenatal-screening/&quot; >matrixlabs</a>

    Like

  5. thanks for the nice information in the post

    Like

  6. Hans G. says:

    Hi Bro, congrats on your upcoming graduation!I have graduated too from my college. And i think we are same. We had a lot of memories in college that makes us won't let go.But i think you have a such great times in GMC, that makes other want have same memories too.

    Like

  7. rick says:

    Best thing to ever happen to me was graduating! I used all of the knowledge I know from school and apply it to my newest project http://engagementphotography.net I aim to help want to be photographers get creative and really engage in growing as an artist as well as a business.

    Like

  8. waw, very impressive life story, thanks for sharing

    Like

  9. Awesome information in the post

    Like

  10. Babe says:

    Congratulations .. is always good to finish what you start.

    Like

Leave a Reply

